Research · cited public sources
Biotheranostics: a breast-cancer genomics evidence dossier
Sources checked · Human specialist review pending
Historical transaction disclosures through April 2021; a clinical study published in 2024; and the issuer's product description accessed in September 2026. Later evidence is context, not evidence of what the buyer knew at acquisition.
What does Hologic's acquisition establish about breast-cancer genomics, and what remains unproven about patient access?
Lacuna interpretation
The filings establish an acquisition of a cancer-diagnostics business, with different price disclosures at announcement and after completion. They do not establish how many eligible patients lack testing. Clinical evidence must be assessed by endpoint and population before this case can support an access-gap thesis.
Claim ledger
Each claim has a date, a basis, a limitation, and a location in its source.
Issuer disclosure
At announcement: approximately $230 million
Hologic reported announcing an agreement to acquire Biotheranostics on January 5, 2021 for approximately US$230.0 million.
- Date / period
- 2021-01-05 (announcement event)
- Basis
- USD; approximate announced purchase price for the company.
- Uncertainty
- Closing was still subject to regulatory approvals. This figure is not the later reported purchase price or a stand-alone value for Breast Cancer Index.
Find it: Note 1, Subsequent Events, page 9: paragraph beginning 'On January 5, 2021'.
Published / filed: 2021-01-27 · Accessed: 2026-09-21 · Source relationship
Issuer disclosure
After completion: $232.5 million reported
Hologic's next quarterly filing reports completion on February 22, 2021 and a purchase price of US$232.5 million.
- Date / period
- 2021-02-22 (completion); reported 2021-04-28
- Basis
- USD; reported acquisition purchase price in a preliminary purchase-price allocation. It is not labeled enterprise value or net cash paid here.
- Uncertainty
- The allocation was preliminary. Later measurement-period adjustments are not reconciled in this bounded case; the two price disclosures do not establish a valuation premium.
Find it: Note 5, Business Combinations → Fiscal 2021 Acquisitions → Biotheranostics, page 15; opening paragraph and Purchase Price row.
Published / filed: 2021-04-28 · Accessed: 2026-09-21 · Source relationship
Issuer disclosure
A cancer-diagnostics business with laboratory services
The completion filing describes molecular tests for breast and metastatic cancers, laboratory testing at Biotheranostics' facility, and revenue reported in Hologic's Diagnostics service revenue.
- Date / period
- Quarter ended 2021-03-27
- Basis
- Acquired business and accounting classification, not a market-size estimate.
- Uncertainty
- The purchase price covers the business. This disclosure does not isolate Breast Cancer Index revenue or establish patient access.
Find it: Note 5 → Biotheranostics, page 15; business description and results-of-operations paragraph.
Published / filed: 2021-04-28 · Accessed: 2026-09-21 · Source relationship
Issuer description
The product addresses a specific treatment decision
Hologic describes Breast Cancer Index as a tumor gene-expression test that informs recurrence risk and the likelihood of benefit from extended endocrine therapy in specified early-stage breast-cancer patients.
- Date / period
- Product page accessed 2026-09-21
- Basis
- Manufacturer's product scope and intended use; not an independently assessed effect size.
- Uncertainty
- Eligibility and limitations matter. This mutable product description is later than the acquisition and does not establish benefit for every breast-cancer patient.
Find it: Overview and 'Breast Cancer Index Test Intended Use and Limitations' near the end of the page.
Published / filed: not stated · Accessed: 2026-09-21 · Source relationship
Study finding
Clinical evidence depends on the endpoint
In the B-42 translational analysis, BCI groups did not significantly differ in extended-letrozole benefit for the primary recurrence-free-interval endpoint. A time-dependent secondary distant-recurrence analysis found benefit in the BCI-high group after four years.
- Date / period
- Study published online 2024-02-20
- Basis
- Biomarker analysis within a trial; primary and secondary endpoints must be distinguished. A within-group benefit does not by itself prove a between-group biomarker interaction.
- Uncertainty
- The authors describe an underpowered primary analysis and cite validation in other trials. This selected study neither disproves all utility nor demonstrates improved access; it includes manufacturer support.
Find it: Abstract → Results and Conclusions; Statistical Analysis; Acknowledgments and author disclosures.
Published / filed: 2024-02-20 · Accessed: 2026-09-21 · Source relationship
What would establish an access gap?
Research hypothesis · untested
Investigate whether eligible patients face barriers between a clinician's testing decision and completion of the test. Measure the gap within a defined population, geography, and payer group before estimating an opportunity.
Who is missing access?
- Missing evidence
- This dossier contains no eligible-patient denominator, test uptake, denial rate, or breakdown by ancestry, inherited risk, geography, or insurance.
- Needed next
- A defined eligible cohort with observed orders, completed tests, and reasons for non-completion, with subgroup methods and uncertainty.
- What would weaken the thesis
- High uptake and few access barriers in the proposed segment would weaken an access-gap thesis.
Does the evidence apply to that population?
- Missing evidence
- The selected B-42 analysis is not a systematic evidence review and does not establish performance across every proposed subgroup.
- Needed next
- Specialist review of relevant trials, eligibility, endpoints, biomarker interactions, and subgroup validation. Tumor gene-expression evidence alone does not establish an inherited-risk or ancestry-specific opportunity.
- What would weaken the thesis
- Weak or non-transferable evidence in the intended population would undermine the proposed use case.
Is there a viable service or business opportunity?
- Missing evidence
- No current coverage determination, reimbursement amount, realized testing revenue, cost-to-serve, or independent pre-acquisition valuation is established here.
- Needed next
- Dated payer policies and observed operating data matched to the proposed service. The acquisition price cannot supply these inputs.
- What would weaken the thesis
- An existing service that already resolves the barrier, or unsustainable operating economics, would weaken the opportunity.
Source register and review status
Sources were checked with AI assistance. Human specialist review and an observed reader session have not occurred. The SEC hosts Hologic's own filings; hosting does not make the SEC an independent author. The study also discloses Biotheranostics support.
Hologic, Inc. (filed with SEC)
Published / filed: 2021-01-27. SEC filing date; includes a subsequent-event disclosure.
Accessed: 2026-09-21. Source group: hologic.
Buyer disclosure; not independent corroboration.
Hologic, Inc. (filed with SEC)
Published / filed: 2021-04-28. SEC filing date; first quarterly report after completion.
Accessed: 2026-09-21. Source group: hologic.
Same buyer as the announcement filing.
Hologic / Biotheranostics
Published / filed: not stated. Undated, mutable product page; use the access date.
Accessed: 2026-09-21. Source group: hologic.
Manufacturer description, not an independent efficacy review.
Clinical Cancer Research; full text archived by Europe PMC
Published / filed: 2024-02-20. Online publication; journal issue May 1, 2024; DOI 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-23-1977.
Accessed: 2026-09-21. Source group: nsabp-b42.
Primary study report with disclosed Biotheranostics support. A separate study group is not a claim of financial independence and does not corroborate the deal price.